Banner Message

The ECC Bookstore is owned and operated by Elgin Community College for the benefit of our campus. Proceeds from purchases made at the bookstore support Elgin Community College and its students. Thank you for your support in choosing to shop at the ECC Bookstore.

General Reading Books

Bob Ross Happy Little Sticker Puzzles

product image
$15.99
Experience the joy of puzzling in these 15 sticker-puzzle challenges featuring the art of Bob Ross.

Bob Ross charmed viewers with his simple and efficient painting techniques, and now you too can discover the joy of creating amazing artworks with these puzzles. Each of the fifteen challenges in this book contains more than 100 sticker shapes to be placed in a tessellated grid. When you're done, you'll have a full-color glossy art poster that you can hang on your wall. The art of Bob Ross is featured in every puzzle, so you'll experience the enjoyment of seeing his works come to life as you complete the puzzles.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781684129157
Publication Date: 
2019-09-10
Author: 
Publisher: 

Breakfast of Champions

$12.00
New/Used: New
"Marvelous . . . [Vonnegut] wheels out all the complaints about America and makes them seem fresh, funny, outrageous, hateful and lovable."--The New York Times

In Breakfast of Champions, one of Kurt Vonnegut's most beloved characters, the aging writer Kilgore Trout, finds to his horror that a Midwest car dealer is taking his fiction as truth. What follows is murderously funny satire, as Vonnegut looks at war, sex, racism, success, politics, and pollution in America and reminds us how to see the truth.

"Free-wheeling, wild and great . . . uniquely Vonnegut."--Publishers Weekly

ISBN/SKU: 
9780385334204
Publication Date: 
1999-05-11
Author: 
Publisher: 

Celtic Tales: Fairy Tales and Stories of Enchantment from Ireland, Scotland, Brittany, and Wales

$22.95

"It's an absorbing introduction to the lore of Albion, but readers will also enjoy teasing out similarities between these tales and more familiar ones." -- Publishers Weekly

 

Perilous quests, true love, and animals that talk: The traditional stories of Ireland, Scotland, Brittany, and Wales transport us to the fantastical world of Celtic folklore.

 

- Features 16 stores that were translated and transcribed by folklorists in the late 19th and 20th centuries that focus on themes such as Tricksters, The Sea, Quests, and Romance
- These timeless tales brim with wit and magic, and each one is brought to life with elegant silhouette art in this special illustrated edition
- Celtic Talesis an extraordinary collection that conjures forgotten realms and rare magical creatures in vivid prose

 

Discover the impactful and stunning illustrations by Kate Forrester in this special edition that is sure to impress any true fan of cultural and mythological literature.

 

Discover delightfully entertaining tales such as Master and Man, The Soul Cages, The Red-Etin, and The Witch of Lok Island.

 

Celtic Tales makes an impressive gift for any fan of folklore and cultural studies.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781452151755
Publication Date: 
2016-08-30
Author: 
Publisher: 

Code Name: Lise : The True Story of the Woman Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Spy

product image
$16.99
NATIONAL BESTSELLER
A Goodreads Choice Awards semifinalist
Featured in The New York Times, The Atlantic, Time, New York Newsday, and on Today!

Best Nonfiction Books to Read in 2019--Woman's Day
The Best Nonfiction Books Coming Out This Year--BookBub
"A nonfiction thriller."--The Wall Street Journal

From internationally bestselling author of the "gripping" (Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times bestselling author) Into the Lion's Mouth comes the extraordinary true story of Odette Sansom, the British spy who operated in occupied France and fell in love with her commanding officer during World War II--perfect for fans of Unbroken, The Nightingale, and Code Girls.

The year is 1942, and World War II is in full swing. Odette Sansom decides to follow in her war hero father's footsteps by becoming an SOE agent to aid Britain and her beloved homeland, France. Five failed attempts and one plane crash later, she finally lands in occupied France to begin her mission. It is here that she meets her commanding officer Captain Peter Churchill.

As they successfully complete mission after mission, Peter and Odette fall in love. All the while, they are being hunted by the cunning German secret police sergeant, Hugo Bleicher, who finally succeeds in capturing them. They are sent to Paris's Fresnes prison, and from there to concentration camps in Germany where they are starved, beaten, and tortured. But in the face of despair, they never give up hope, their love for each other, or the whereabouts of their colleagues.

In Code Name: Lise, Larry Loftis paints a portrait of true courage, patriotism, and love--of two incredibly heroic people who endured unimaginable horrors and degradations. He seamlessly weaves together the touching romance between Odette and Peter and the thrilling cat and mouse game between them and Sergeant Bleicher. With this amazing testament to the human spirit, Loftis proves once again that he is adept at writing "nonfiction that reads like a page-turning novel" (Parade).

ISBN/SKU: 
9781501198663
Publication Date: 
2019-11-12
Author: 
Publisher: 

Doctor Who Eight Doctor Adventures - Ravenous 1

$68.99

Having saved the universe and restored peace at home, the Doctor and Liv go in search of their friend, Helen. Following a trail of breadcrumbs through space and time they discover an unsavoury conspiracy, and an old enemy lurking in the shadows, waiting

ISBN/SKU: 
9781787035508

Forgotten Algebra

$16.99
This self-teaching workbook is designed especially for students who need to go back to algebra basics as preparation for starting a college-level math course. It's also a helpful review for those preparing to take standardized exams that include math testing, such as a math placement exam, the GRE or GMAT.

Forgotten Algebra contains 32 work units, starting its review with signed numbers, symbols, and first-degree equations, and progressing to include logarithms and right triangles. Each work unit reviews basics before presenting problems and exercises that include detailed solutions designed to facilitate self-study. The book's systematic presentation of subject matter is easy to follow, and encompasses all the terminology, equations, and information that students of algebra need to master. This new edition has been expanded to include step-by-step solutions for all exercises.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781438001500
Publication Date: 
2013-08-01
Author: 

Harry Potter Sticker Art Puzzles

$15.99

Harry Potter fans of all ages will enjoy these fifteen sticker-puzzle challenges!

 

Follow Harry, Hermione, Ron, and your favorite wizards through the halls of Hogwarts and learn what it takes to be a hero. Each sticker puzzle spread features a signature trait a wizard must have: courage, cleverness, loyalty, resilience, and more. The fifteen puzzles feature more than 100 stickers each to create memorable scenes from the Harry Potter films. Fans of all ages will relive the magic of the films as they complete each puzzle.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781684128396
Publication Date: 
2019-12-03

Hope: Entertainer of the Century

product image
$20.00
"Revelatory...fascinating" (The New York Times): The first definitive biography of Bob Hope, featuring exclusive and extensive reporting that makes the persuasive case that he was the most important entertainer of the twentieth century.

With his topical jokes and his all-American, brash-but-cowardly screen character, Bob Hope was the only entertainer to achieve top-rated success in every major mass-entertainment medium of the century, from vaudeville in the 1920s all the way to television in the 1950s, 1960s, and 1970s. He virtually invented modern stand-up comedy. Above all, he helped redefine the very notion of what it means to be a star: a savvy businessman, an enterprising builder of his own brand, and a public-spirited entertainer whose Christmas military tours and unflagging work for charity set the standard for public service in Hollywood.

As Richard Zoglin shows in this "entertaining and important book" (The Wall Street Journal), there is still much to be learned about this most public of figures, from his secret first marriage and his stint in reform school, to his indiscriminate womanizing and his ambivalent relationships with Bing Crosby and Johnny Carson. Hope could be cold, self-centered, tight with a buck, and perhaps the least introspective man in Hollywood. But he was also a tireless worker, devoted to his fans, and generous with friends.

"Scrupulously researched, likely definitive, and as entertaining and as important (to an understanding of twentieth- and twenty-first-century pop culture) as its subject once genuinely was" (Vanity Fair), Hope is both a celebration of the entertainer and a complex portrait of a gifted but flawed man. "A wonderful biography," says Woody Allen. "For me, it's a feast."

ISBN/SKU: 
9781439140284
Publication Date: 
2015-11-24
Author: 
Publisher: 

Irish Chicago

$21.99
The history of the Irish in Chicago goes back to the days when the city was little more than an outpost on the prairie shores of Lake Michigan. Drawn by opportunities in the growing frontier town, Irish men and women who were fleeing economic hardship and famine in Ireland were quick to make their mark on Chicago's political, religious, and economic life. The unique position of the Irish among immigrant groups-English speaking and more culturally attuned to Anglo-American institutions, yet Catholic-allowed them to flourish in occupations and social positions for which they have become known. Most notably, the Irish in Chicago have produced eight mayors and many bishops. But Irish Chicago is also the story of those who built and enlivened the city: the policemen, firemen, priests, nuns and brothers, tavern owners, educators, transit workers, musicians, and ward politicians made good, and the north, south, and west side neighborhoods and parishes they inhabited.
ISBN/SKU: 
9780738520384
Publication Date: 
2003-02-19

McGuire's Irish Pub Cookbook

$24.95

For more than thirty-five years, McGuire's Irish Pub has been serving authentic fare to its customers in Pensacola, Florida. Now, fans of McGuire's fun-loving food and drinks can try all their best dishes at home. This mouth-watering volume covers McGuire's signature recipes for everything from bread and brunch to fish and fowl to meat and desserts. Also included in the foreword are 32 color photographs of McGuire's itself to give readers a sense of the quirky pub that is home to such terrific meals.

One evening's menu might begin with Potato Goat-Cheese Napoleons with Olive Pesto, followed by Mean Gene's Mulligatawny with freshly baked Barmbrack, a traditional Irish loaf. For the main course, you might choose Stuffed Quail with Pilsner Sauce. But why stop there? No dinner is complete without dessert, and who could resist Apple Brown Betty Cheesecake, paired with a warm mug of Hot Limerick Toddy? For breakfast the next morning, treat yourself to Gingerbread Waffles with Irish Coffee Syrup and Ginger Sugar!

McGuire's creative appetizers, entr'es, and desserts are impossible to resist. Regardless of what is on the menu, enjoy McGuire's food with a "bain taitneamh as do bheile"-a hearty appetite. Chapters feature such delicacies as breads, party picks, sandwiches, savory pies and tarts, pasta and crepes, and heavenly desserts.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781565542990
Publication Date: 
1998-04-30
Author: