Banner Message

The ECC Bookstore is owned and operated by Elgin Community College for the benefit of our campus. Proceeds from purchases made at the bookstore support Elgin Community College and its students. Thank you for your support in choosing to shop at the ECC Bookstore.

General Reading

Color Your Own Venom

$9.99

Nothing's ever truly black and white with Venom! Is he Spider-Man's fiercest foe, or a lethal protector of the innocent? Villain, vigilante or Guardian of the Galaxy? There are many shades to Venom's world - and now it's up to you to supply them! The slimy pink of his tongue! The shiny blue of his sinewy muscles! The trail of blood red in his wake! All this and more is waiting for you to color, on 60 pages of vibrant, violent, Venom-ous artwork featuring Eddie Brock, Flash Thompson and others who have shared a bond with the sinister symbiote! Grab your pens, pencils and crayons and follow Venom from his introduction by the legendary Todd McFarlane, through years of brutal battles with Spidey, clashes with Carnage and his time as a "hero" - right through to the full-on explosion of the Venomverse!

ISBN/SKU: 
9781302912796
Publication Date: 
2018-09-18
0
Publisher: 

Eyes On The Prize: America's Civil Rights Years, 1954-1965(Anniversary

product image
$23.00
The 30th-anniversary edition of Juan Williams's celebrated account of the tumultuous early years of the civil rights movement

From the Montgomery bus boycott to the Little Rock Nine to the Selma-Montgomery march, thousands of ordinary people who participated in the American civil rights movement; their stories are told in Eyes on the Prize. From leaders such as Martin Luther King, Jr., to lesser-known figures such as Barbara Rose John and Jim Zwerg, each man and woman made the decision that somethinghad to be done to stop discrimination. These moving accounts and pictures of the first decade of the civil rights movement are a tribute to the people, black and white, who took part in the fight for justice and the struggle they endured.

ISBN/SKU: 
9780143124740
Publication Date: 
2013-09-03
0
Author: 
Publisher: 

I'm Not Your Sweet Babboo!

product image
$9.99
Pick up a glass of milk, curl up with your security blanket, and enjoy the timeless brilliance of Peanuts in this new collection of comic strips!

Everyone's favorite classic characters are back: Peppermint Patty enrolls in a private school to end her academic troubles--only to discover she's just graduated from obedience school. Linus finds himself entangled in a love triangle (and stuck on top of a snow-covered roof). And Charlie Brown runs away from the law and becomes a vagrant baseball coach.

The Peanuts crew is lovable, popular, and charming, but please whatever you do, don't call Linus "My Sweet Babboo!"

ISBN/SKU: 
9781449485405
Publication Date: 
2018-03-13
0

Josephine Baker's Last Dance

product image
$16.00
From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures.

Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker--actress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, and a woman dedicated to erasing prejudice and creating a more equitable world--in Josephine Baker's Last Dance.

In this illuminating biographical novel, Sherry Jones brings to life Josephine's early years in servitude and poverty in America, her rise to fame as a showgirl in her famous banana skirt, her activism against discrimination, and her many loves and losses. From 1920s Paris to 1960s Washington, to her final, triumphant performance, one of the most extraordinary lives of the twentieth century comes to stunning life on the page.

With intimate prose and comprehensive research, Sherry Jones brings this remarkable and compelling public figure into focus for the first time in a joyous celebration of a life lived in technicolor, a powerful woman who continues to inspire today.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781501102448
Publication Date: 
2018-12-04
0
Author: 
Publisher: 

The Gutfeld Monologues: Classic Rants From The Five

$27.00

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

 

A dynamic and annotated collection of Fox News star and New York Times bestselling author Greg Gutfeld's sharp, hilarious monologues on everything from politics to pop culture--updated with new commentary for the current day.

 

"Wherever I go, I am hit repeatedly by the same question: where can I read your monologues? It should be easy to find these little nuggets of knowledge."

 

Well, now it is.

 

In the past few years, Fox News host Greg Gutfeld has covered everything from crazed academics, to unhinged celebrities, to the wildest election in recent history on his shows The Five and The Greg Gutfeld Show. In The Gutfeld Monologues, he brings together his best and favorite monologues in this funny, unconventional collection for new and longtime fans alike. Scored through with marginal edits, scratch-outs, 20/20 hindsight, and up-to-the-minute commentary on what he got wrong, this book isn't your grandmother's anthology collection.

 

With his signature humor, wit, and insight, Greg explains it all in this memorable collection about some of our country's most crucial--and not so crucial--modern moments.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781501190728
Publication Date: 
2018-07-31
0
Author: 
Publisher: 

This Far By Faith: Stories From The African American Religious Experience

product image
$15.99

A companion to the PBS series, This Far by Faith isthe story of how religious faith inspired the greatest social movementin American history -- the U.S. Civil Rights movement.

Hailed upon publication as a beautiful, seminal book on the role of the church in the African American community as well as on the social history of America, This Far by Faith reveals the deep religious conviction that empowered a people viewed as powerless to blaze a path to freedom and deliverance, to stand and be counted in this one nation under God. Here are the stories of politics, tent revivals, and the importance of black churches as touchstones for every step of the faith journey that became the Civil Rights movement of the 1950s and 1960s.

Using archival and contemporary photography, historical research, and modern-day interviews, This Far by Faith features messages from some of today's foremost religious leaders.

ISBN/SKU: 
9780060934248
Publication Date: 
2003-12-23
0
Author: 

Thurgood Marshall: American Revolutionary

product image
$17.00
This New York Times Notable Book of the Year, 1998, is now in trade paper.

From the bestselling author of Eyes on the Prize, here is the definitive biography of the great lawyer and Supreme Court justice.

ISBN/SKU: 
9780812932997
Publication Date: 
2000-02-01
0
Author: 
Publisher: 

Triumph: The Untold Story Of Jesse Owens And Hitler's Olympics

$15.95
The story of Jesse Owens, the African-American son of sharecroppers who won four gold medals at the 1936 Olympic Games held in Nazi Germany, is that of a high-profile athlete giving a performance that transcends sports. But it is also the intimate and complex tale of the courage of one remarkable man.
ISBN/SKU: 
9780618919109
Publication Date: 
2008-02-05
0
Author: 
Publisher: